Simplified explanation of the Five pillars of Islam: declaration of faith, prayer, zakat, fasting and pilgrimage, which represent a framework of the Muslim life and the core of Islam religion. Moreover it talks about the The main message of Islam.

The fifth rukn: the pilgrimage

Definition: Linguistically speaking, hajj, or pilgrimage, means ‘setting off for a definite destination’.[1] In an Islamic context, it means travelling to Makkah to perform this duty according to a particular manner, at a specific time and under specific conditions.[2]

Status: The Muslim community is unanimous that the pilgrimage is obligatory to every Muslim who can afford the journey once in a lifetime, and that it is one of the five pillars upon which the structure of Islam is built. [3]

:Allah says

‘Pilgrimage to this House is a duty owed to Allah by all people who are able to undertake it. As for those who disbelieve, Allah does not stand in need of anything in all the worlds’


:The Prophet (peace be upon him) said

‘Islam has been built on five pillars: testifying that there is no deity but Allah and that Muhammad is Allah’s messenger, performing the prayers, paying the zakat, making the pilgrimage to the House, and fasting in Ramadan’

(Related by al-Bukhari and Muslim)

: He also said in his speech during his farewell pilgrimage

‘Mankind, Allah has made it obligatory for you that you should perform the pilgrimage to the House. Therefore, perform it’

(Related by Muslim)


  1.  Ibn Manzur, Lisan al-'Arab, vol. 2, p. 226.
  2.  Husain al-Awayshah, Al-Mawsu'ah al-Fiqhiyyah al-Muyassarah, vol. 4, p. 270.
  3.  Ibid., vol. 4, p. 239; al-Zuhayli, Al-Fiqh al-Islami, vol. 3, p. 2,065; Sabiq, Fiqh al-Sunnah, vol. 1, p. 626.